Magicka Review

2014-02-08_00008

Do you like to cast spells in fantasy games? Do you like quick crafting systems? Do you like using M60 machine guns on goblins? If so, Magicka is the game for you! Magicka is so ridiculous and over the top, I think most people would be hard-pressed to find a reason to dislike it.

2014-02-08_00002

Vlad is definitely not a vampire.

As the game opens up, we get a seemingly generic story line: Evil wizard threatens the land, go and save everybody. The fascinating part is how Magicka plays into these cliches and its own wonderful humor. All of the voice acting in the game is done with a humorous accent, sort of what I’d expect Swedish to sound like. This had me chuckling with every verbal exchange and I searched for all the dialogue I that I could. The shear amount of random quips and references to movies, games, and other media is astounding.

Searching for all of this game’s references became a game of its own (with achievement tracking to boot) but how does the base game hold up?

2014-02-08_00016

Wonderfully. In Magicka, you combine various elements to create spells on the fly. Combine lighting, fire, and arcane for a devastating beam, or ice and earth for a spike-riddled boulder to launch. The possibilities are many and keeps gameplay feeling fresh as you are required to think about the best combination for each type of foe. In addition to crafting your own spell, there a spellbooks scattered throughout the game, upon collecting them, you gain access to unique spells such as teleporting, spreading grease on the ground, or my favorite: summoning a thunderstorm that decimates everybody.

2014-02-08_00013

Lightning at your fingertips has never been more literal.

The campaign offers up to four-player co-op and can quickly become chaotic as the amount of spells flying across the screen increases. Luckily if any players die, they are easily revived with a simple spell.  More players also allows for a bit more experimentation as you can cross spell-beams and set various status effects on foes. Its is also common for a lot of accidental betrayals and can lead to a small battle among yourselves, but what’s a deathmatch between friends?

If you’re in the mood for battle fellow players, Magicka has you covered. There is a versus mode that can be  customized with various rules and available items. After picking a stage, you can fight with local or online opponents.

2014-02-08_00015

Magicka has so much to offer for its price tag. If you and your buddies are looking for a new co-op game, Magicka can keep you occupied for quite sometime with its lengthy campaign and versus offerings. There is also additional DLC for purchase if you’d like to experience additional campaigns. For anybody that hasn’t tried it, there is a brief demo available on Steam and I encourage everybody to give it a go. You won’t experience a game like this anywhere else.

2014-02-08_00011

About taylorgameschris

I'm currently a college student that is looking to get into the game industry. I've been playing video games as long as I can remember, and enjoy my time spent with them. After accumulating experience via conventions and releases, I have decided to start posting content about what I have experienced. It has led me to try the Oculus Rift and various games early in development. Other than new convention info, I have decided to start writing editorials on gaming news and often input my thoughts about it, as well as inform my audience about news they may not be aware of. I have also started to review games that I purchase or have purchased. I'm attempting to released scheduled content, but with the holiday season rearing its head, being consistent has been rather difficult. In time, I will have regular posts. Thank you for checking out my blog, and please follow for more content to come!
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

