A Brief, Satisfying Return to Halo 3

Halo-3A-Finish-the-Fight-3

 

So today marks a glorious return to one of my all-time favorite games : Halo 3. It was surprisingly easy to convince a group of friends to get together and enjoy the fragfest multiplayer. Gone were the now ubiquitous progression-based unlocks and replaces by pure carnage that is Halo multiplayer.

As our numbers slowly whittled down, we started the 4-player co-op campaign. It had been too long since I had heard the familiar sound of a grunt birthday headshot ringing out, or the roar of a Warthog’s engine. The Covenant threat was once more at it’s peak until crushed underneath our heels.

After playing through Halo 3 again, I’m surprised at how well it holds up. I’ve never felt more in control of Master Chief than I do here. All the weapons are satisfying and fun to use.Visually, it is a lower resolution than its successors, but Halo 3’s art design is iconic, and colors vibrant. The most stunning feature that stood out was the environments. Campaign levels featuring the Ark are marvelous, as you can see the rest of the installation in the distance.

For its time, Halo 3 was the top 360 exclusive, and for good reason. I have enough hours into this title to put the rest of my library to shame: thousands of Ranked, Social, and Custom matches and more campaign playthroughs than I can remember. After the two follow ups in the Halo franchise, my friends and I still talk about “that one time in Halo 3.”  If you have an Xbox 360, then this title is a must-own. Who knows? We may meet on the Halo 3 battlefield one day, you’ll fire your BR, and I’ll fire mine, and it will be glorious.

About taylorgameschris

I'm currently a college student that is looking to get into the game industry. I've been playing video games as long as I can remember, and enjoy my time spent with them. After accumulating experience via conventions and releases, I have decided to start posting content about what I have experienced. It has led me to try the Oculus Rift and various games early in development. Other than new convention info, I have decided to start writing editorials on gaming news and often input my thoughts about it, as well as inform my audience about news they may not be aware of. I have also started to review games that I purchase or have purchased. I'm attempting to released scheduled content, but with the holiday season rearing its head, being consistent has been rather difficult. In time, I will have regular posts. Thank you for checking out my blog, and please follow for more content to come!
This entry was posted in Editorials. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

