Octodad: Dadliest Catch Review

2014-02-02_00004

I know this was my week dedicated to Bioshock, but I came across this curious little title and quickly fell in love with it. Octodad is an indie title where you take control of an Octopus trying to hide in our society.Keeping the guise of being human and avoiding detection is key. The game continually ramps up the ridiculousness as everybody fails to see past his meager disguise.

Except for this maniacal chef hunting you down.

Except for this maniacal chef hunting you down.

This octopus has actually managed to get married and started a family, thus the title of Octodad. As Octodad, you are in charge of completing such exciting tasks like mowing the lawn! Or weeding the garden! Strangely enough as it sounds, these mundane activities are part of what gives Octodad its charm.Who knew that making a game completing menial tasks could be so entertaining? Making coffee and pouring chocolate milk become affairs of ridiculous proportions as you struggle with the controls.

2014-02-02_00007

In most triple-A or very fair games, control is something the developers must get perfect so the player can accomplish the tasks set before them. Octodad throws this concept out the window. Most of the game is laughing at how absurdly you can (and will) move through these environments. Taking a trip down the soda aisle becomes a real mess after a badly placed footstep. Trying to grab a milk carton can result in soda, bananas, and milk cartons flying all over!

2014-02-02_00012

Everybody else drags their mower behind them… right?

It’s hard to describe the controls, I used the Xbox 360 controller for the PC version and it worked well enough. The triggers control Octodad’s feet and the analog sticks control his right arm. It took me some adjusting to, but before long I was flopping around with ease. As the game progresses, the developers do throw many objectives your way and to their credit, nothing feels repeated or recycled in this title. Nearly every objective is new and is almost never accomplished the same way twice.

2014-02-02_00016

All in all, Octodad: Dadliest Catch is silly, ridiculous fun that will have you and your friends laughing as the stakes get higher and objectives crazier. Admittedly there’s not much content to the game, maybe enough to occupy a couple hours, but this a great game to show to your friends and have them play. You can even try out the Co-op mode which makes controlling Octodad even harder! I picked up my copy on Steam for 20% off making it around $12. While it does seem a bit much for such a short game, Octodad:Dadliest Catch will enthrall gamers with its excellent sense of humor and charm.

2014-02-02_00015

About taylorgameschris

I'm currently a college student that is looking to get into the game industry. I've been playing video games as long as I can remember, and enjoy my time spent with them. After accumulating experience via conventions and releases, I have decided to start posting content about what I have experienced. It has led me to try the Oculus Rift and various games early in development. Other than new convention info, I have decided to start writing editorials on gaming news and often input my thoughts about it, as well as inform my audience about news they may not be aware of. I have also started to review games that I purchase or have purchased. I'm attempting to released scheduled content, but with the holiday season rearing its head, being consistent has been rather difficult. In time, I will have regular posts. Thank you for checking out my blog, and please follow for more content to come!
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Octodad: Dadliest Catch Review

  1. Octodad is such a treat for gamers. What an original title.

Leave a Reply

