AMD’s Mantle to Uneasy Start

Image

Well it is a bit late, but Mantle API has finally come to Battlefield 4 PC. When I finally got the update for the game, I quickly went to AMD’s website for the drivers. They weren’t there. But being as forgiving as I am, I figured maybe waiting a day or so and the drivers would be there. So I felt my excitement ramp back up up again when I saw the driver was up for download today. I hurriedly downloaded it and started up Battlefield. After switching to Mantle API from Direct X I encountered an immediate issue. The game kept crashing. I loaded up a new server. Crash. Load up a less populated game. Crash. Attempt to load a campaign level. Crash.

As you might’ve noticed there was reoccurring issue going on. Now I gave them the benefit of the doubt, and re-installed the drivers, I repaired Battlefield 4 for any missing/corrupt files, and I knocked down the settings. Crashed. After so much build up, I became increasingly frustrated. I went to the forums and messaging boards in hope of an answer, but the only thing I managed to find was: “Some people are experiencing issues.” To be one of those people is quite frustrating. Another possibility is that Mantle hasn’t been properly optimized for the HD7XXX series of graphics cards (rebranded the R9 and R7 series) but that rumor was quickly debunked as some users reported no issues with these products.

Maybe bad launches are a trend with Battlefield 4, but it came as a surprise all the same. Hopefully AMD/DICE will manage to fix this issue ASAP. As an avid fan of both companies, I feel really let down that an issue such as this plagues me from enjoying the optimal experience, and will remain a problem for some time. Once Mantle is up and working I will post my experience with the new API as well as performance increases. Hopefully sooner rather than later.

About taylorgameschris

I'm currently a college student that is looking to get into the game industry. I've been playing video games as long as I can remember, and enjoy my time spent with them. After accumulating experience via conventions and releases, I have decided to start posting content about what I have experienced. It has led me to try the Oculus Rift and various games early in development. Other than new convention info, I have decided to start writing editorials on gaming news and often input my thoughts about it, as well as inform my audience about news they may not be aware of. I have also started to review games that I purchase or have purchased. I'm attempting to released scheduled content, but with the holiday season rearing its head, being consistent has been rather difficult. In time, I will have regular posts. Thank you for checking out my blog, and please follow for more content to come!
This entry was posted in Editorials, News Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

