Gears IP Firmly Secured by Microsoft

ImageGears of War was one of the bigger franchises to come out of the last generation of gaming consoles, and showed up exclusively on the Xbox 360. Now with the new generation getting started, Microsoft has acquired the rights to the IP and assigned it to Black Tusk Studios, a newly formed company under Microsoft’s umbrella of developers. It is stated that they will still work closely with Epic so that the series stays as an example of what the Unreal Engine can do.

When this information came my way, I was both excited, and a bit worried. The Gears of War franchise consists of four games so far, but after the release of Gears 3, I must admit I had some fatigue from the series. So much so that I skipped over the latest release (Judgement) and haven’t had an urge to play it since. With that said, the Gears games have all been pretty good, high scores from critics and much adoration from fans, the series definitely deserves some attention for its next-gen iteration. 

So what’s your take on this? Are you pumped to see Gears coming to Xbox One? Or are you tired of the franchise after four games released thus far? Sound off in the comments below and let us know what you think.

 

 

About taylorgameschris

I'm currently a college student that is looking to get into the game industry. I've been playing video games as long as I can remember, and enjoy my time spent with them. After accumulating experience via conventions and releases, I have decided to start posting content about what I have experienced. It has led me to try the Oculus Rift and various games early in development. Other than new convention info, I have decided to start writing editorials on gaming news and often input my thoughts about it, as well as inform my audience about news they may not be aware of. I have also started to review games that I purchase or have purchased. I'm attempting to released scheduled content, but with the holiday season rearing its head, being consistent has been rather difficult. In time, I will have regular posts. Thank you for checking out my blog, and please follow for more content to come!
This entry was posted in News Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gears IP Firmly Secured by Microsoft

  1. I’m quite optimistic with where Microsoft and Black Tusk Studios will take the franchise. I’ve never been a huge fan of the Gears series, but I’ve always enjoyed them. Much like you, I skipped Judgement too. It just didn’t look very good, if I’m honest. It’s a brilliant franchise that Microsoft will, no doubt, benefit from owning.

Leave a Reply

