Steam Machines Too Complicated for Consumers?

Image

During CES 2014, Valve revealed 13 different Steam Machines from various manufacturers. From top-of-the-line machine builds, to valid competitors to Xbox One and Playstation 4, Steam Machines are a varied bunch. After reviewing the specs on each of the machines, most of them seem to be rebranded pre-built PC towers,with IBuyPower, Cyberpower, and Alienware’s console-esque products being the exception.

Image

During the announcement of Steam Machines, I had been under the impression that the various builds would be simplified into: good, great, and best as the classification types. What they are pushing instead falls into the same trap as selling gaming PC’s is in now: it’s overly complicated. With so many variations on the actual specs of these machines, I have to wonder if any console gamers will actually know how to tell which machine will be best price for their money. The fact that most of these machines are as expensive, or even more expensive than an Xbox One ($499 and up) may repel consumers. 

I fear that without proper messaging, Steam Machines may fall flat as they are more expensive, more complicated, and more varied than any of their competitor’s offerings. While I do have high hopes for Valve, this first unveiling has me more worried than excited. Are you pumped about Valve’s new machines? Or are you put off by the release of 13 different console replacements? Post your comments below.

About taylorgameschris

I'm currently a college student that is looking to get into the game industry. I've been playing video games as long as I can remember, and enjoy my time spent with them. After accumulating experience via conventions and releases, I have decided to start posting content about what I have experienced. It has led me to try the Oculus Rift and various games early in development. Other than new convention info, I have decided to start writing editorials on gaming news and often input my thoughts about it, as well as inform my audience about news they may not be aware of. I have also started to review games that I purchase or have purchased. I'm attempting to released scheduled content, but with the holiday season rearing its head, being consistent has been rather difficult. In time, I will have regular posts. Thank you for checking out my blog, and please follow for more content to come!
This entry was posted in Editorials, News Stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

