The Wolf Among Us (Impressions)

2013-11-29_00005

Recently, I picked up The Wolf Among Us in the autumn Steam sale that was held. I had never played a Telltale game before, and with their recent smash hit The Walking Dead winning many game of the year awards, I felt like this would be a safe purchase. After playing through the first episode, I must admit I am very impressed.

The Wolf Among Us is based on the Fables series of comics where all of our treasured fable characters are now living in the real world through guises known as glamour. Our main character is Bigby Wolf, also known as the Big Bad Wolf of Little Red Riding Hood fame. Bigby is the sheriff of the fable community, keeping everyone in line and shipping any non-human guised fables to The Farm. Bigby is an extremely likable character: he’s incredibly quick witted, tough, and charismatic (all depending on your choices). The supporting cast is just as great, Snow White reminded me of Elizabeth from Bioshock Infinite and she was a wonderful foil to the intimidating Bigby. The investigating was at it best when she comes along.

2013-11-29_00009

Now something that had always held me back from Telltale’s games is the lack of gameplay, true enough, Th Wolf Among Us does continue their trend of “movie” games. There are a lot more cinematics than there is gameplay and the gameplay that is there, is all quicktime events. What makes this game great though is the investigative segments and the dialogue.

2013-11-29_00004

The narrative in this game follows a murder investigation and involves a lot of clue gathering. The dialogue segments are also entertaining, the characters are well-written and responses always witty and sly. The game is also set up like a television series, with the story spread across 5 different episodes. As of right now, only the first episode “Faith” is available, but with the promise of more on the way, I must say, Telltale may have another game of the year on their hands.

About taylorgameschris

I'm currently a college student that is looking to get into the game industry. I've been playing video games as long as I can remember, and enjoy my time spent with them. After accumulating experience via conventions and releases, I have decided to start posting content about what I have experienced. It has led me to try the Oculus Rift and various games early in development. Other than new convention info, I have decided to start writing editorials on gaming news and often input my thoughts about it, as well as inform my audience about news they may not be aware of. I have also started to review games that I purchase or have purchased. I'm attempting to released scheduled content, but with the holiday season rearing its head, being consistent has been rather difficult. In time, I will have regular posts. Thank you for checking out my blog, and please follow for more content to come!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Wolf Among Us (Impressions)

  1. Pingback: The Wolf Among Us: Smoke and Mirrors | Taylorgames

Leave a Reply

