What will Next-Gen Mean?

At the start of the 7th console generation, we were introduced to the Xbox 360, Wii, and PS3. What did these consoles mean to the gaming industry as a whole? It meant more powerful machines of course, so prettier games were to be expected. This was the start of the High-Definition age of gaming, and online interaction.

The first game that made me switch to next-gen was TES: Oblivion. It was an open-world role-playing game that I couldn’t put down. The world was beautiful, and adventures grand. The next big thing was Gears of War. The ads for Gears was astonishing, I couldn’t wait for my chance to try it. Once I had it, the visuals blew my mind, the world was dark and scary. After thoroughly enjoying the campaign I hopped into the online portion of the game. The multiplayer was addictive: each round was a competition to the death, no respawns, no killstreaks, just you versus your enemy.

After I had played these two games, I was hooked on this new generation. The limits were sky-high. Bioshock arrived and blew any other narrative shooter out of the water. Skyrim launched and entertained me for hours. Halos 3&4 were great exclusives and pushed the bar higher out of what I could expect out of my games.

My big question remains: What will this next-gen mean? I mean prettier games for sure, but what will be that game, that moment when you could say, “This wasn’t possible before,” or “This new game changes the experience.” Everything coming out either has a version on our current consoles or looks unimpressive. This new generation needs its “Aha!” moment when everything clicks. It needs its next Bioshock, its The Last of Us, or Call of Duty blockbuster. New IPs and ideas need to arise and shows us what these new machines are capable of.

About taylorgameschris

I'm currently a college student that is looking to get into the game industry. I've been playing video games as long as I can remember, and enjoy my time spent with them. After accumulating experience via conventions and releases, I have decided to start posting content about what I have experienced. It has led me to try the Oculus Rift and various games early in development. Other than new convention info, I have decided to start writing editorials on gaming news and often input my thoughts about it, as well as inform my audience about news they may not be aware of. I have also started to review games that I purchase or have purchased. I'm attempting to released scheduled content, but with the holiday season rearing its head, being consistent has been rather difficult. In time, I will have regular posts. Thank you for checking out my blog, and please follow for more content to come!
This entry was posted in Editorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

